assembling the engine

Last year I bought a rebuilt engine almost done assembling. with a lot of new parts, I never rebuilt a FIAT engine before, my only experience was with a VW bug aircooled engines.

the engine is a 1979 Fiat 1500cc Engine with new rings, bearings, valve seats, valve guides, ect.
Head has been ported & polished

This engine practicly just needs to attach the oil pump and camshaft head and ready to put back to the car. but when I reviewed the piston rods I saw something wrong. On the haynes manual says needs to install following the marks. 1-1, 2-2, 3-3, 4-4

but i saw 1-1, 2-3, 3-2, 4-4 !!! Ok, I don't trust that. so I'll start to dismantling all and start again. I need your help.

sorry if I make dumb questions, i'm a beginner and i want to learn. on the haynes manual just say "markings were noted during dismantling".

The block

picture 1-front engine is the timing pulley and rear is the flywheel? and FRONT OF THE ENGINE IS THE INLET AND EXHAUST LOCATION, and REAR IS THE DISTRIBUITOR, OIL FILTER AND PLUGS?

eap001.jpg

marks on the crankshaft needs to go on the oil filter side? (rear of the engine?)
MARKS I II III IIII starts on front and the last is NO MARKED? (next to the flywheel)

picture 2-piston rods marks, from the front to rear is piston 1-2-3-4? on haynes manual says "the identification numbers stamped on the connecting rods are to the rear of the engine when fitted"

eap002.jpg

if you see the picture, some is wrong.
I will need to remove the connecting rod and piston 3 from cilinder 2 and place on cil 3, same with connecting rod and piston 2 on cil 3?

picture 3-pistons side, this is the correct side?

eap003.jpg

Last edited:
Okay, I'll start