JJs Mystery Part Thread/game show

jjay911

True Classic
I have a sneaky suspicion that I will be asking lots of questions about parts I find in my Stash... No reason others cant use this to I.D parts. It could be fun... Anyone want to take a crack at this one?

IMG_4354.jpg

It helps of you show the writing on the relay. I'm no expert, but since it doesn't look lie a Bosch Relay, I think it is just a relay used for an alarm.

Ed

Thanks for playing Ed... I think you are on to something.. Lets try some switches for our next challenge.. I cant tell you what half of these are for because like I have tried explaining to a few folks before, I dont speak Emoticon. English is easier...:wall::wacko::censored::mad::)

IMG_4395.jpg

IMG_4394.jpg

I think what the diagram is showing...

is that it is definitely a relay, but not a conventional one.

A conventional one energizes both 87 and 87a when turned on, and neither when turned off.

This one energizes 87a when turned off, and 87 when turned on.

There's a name for this type of relay but I can't remember it.

Pete

It's a standard Bosch style single pole double throw (SPDT) relay. It has a normally open contact and a normally closed contact.

you can

use any of different names: SPDT (single pole double throw) or NO- NC (normally open, normally closed), Form C - take your pick.

Lets try some switches for our next challenge.. I cant tell you what half of these are for

Left to right and top to bottom:

Heater fan; 4-way hazard flasher; Instrument panel lighting (three positions: dim, dimmer, off); dome light on (useful for shortening your battery life); rear window defrost (optional item); and unused switch intended to perplex the innocent (also optional).

Last edited:
Top to bottom, left to right: