Been a long time, news not good

Carl_Auer

Groovy
It has been a while since I have been here... For those who do not know me, I was member 50 of Seattle X1/9, I have owned a couple 77s, a 78, a 76 highly modified, an 81, and for a short time a Scorpion.

As many of you may remember, I sold my 76 (formerly Warren's in Canada) to move to Alaska. I planned on spending a year there refocusing my life. I am a photographer, photojournalist to be specific, and in Seattle I was a small fish in a big pond. I moved to Alaska, planning on spending a year with my mom who was in her early 80s and had suffered a TIA and a heart attack in the previous five years. Less then a week later mom was diagnosed with heart failure and my year in Alaska which started in 2003, would end up changing my life. Four years later mom had heart surgery, and signs of dementia started. After years of taking care of her, shooting high school sports, college sports, semi-pro sports, Iditarod, and senior photos, family situations ended up moving us to Denver, Colorado. I was able to buy my 81 and ship it to Alaska, and I brought it to Colorado, but had to sell it.

Once in Colorado, I immediately started shooting. My first assignment was coverage of the Dark Knight theater shooting. I shot everything I could and was making a name for myself. I was a semi-big fish in a large pond, but then moms dementia started to get worse. Worse to the point, I could no longer leave her alone. So, I started working from home. That has been my last three years, up until this past Father's Day.