Digital ECU Project

wallywest

Low Mileage
1. Plug and play - meaning a simple unit swap with no additional bits or cable changes.
2, Programmable engine parameters.
3. Diagnostics - data output to a laptop or I pad etc.
I've made some progress on prototype software and hardware interfaces but I need help with
1. A dead or no longer wanted ECU - I just need the connector but the housing would be a bonus.
2. Suggestions for features/ideas/comments.
3. Any expression of interest in what I am doing.
I have spent less than $100 so far but it will soon be time to commission a printed circuit board and that will probably cost a few hundred-maybe quite a few.
I considered trying crowd funding but now I'm wondering about "group of fanatic masochists" funding. Is anyone interested in throwing a few bucks into the pot with the possibility of a workable unit at the end?
Why do I think I can do this?
1. I am an Electrical Engineer by profession. I've done hardware and software product design.
2. I've been an amateur mechanic for more than 40 years (yikes!)
3. Functionally the analog ECU is pretty simple. I've investigated and found solutions for the hurdles I've identified so far.
4. I'm stubborn.

If anyone is interested please let me know. I am willing to provide status reports as I move along.

Thanks for listening.

wally.occomore@gmail.com

Interesting project. I work in the electronics industry and my be able to help out. I am also in Ontario.

Brian

Definitely interested. But have you investigated the numerous existing programmable ECU's that will work for this? There are many already on the market, including at least one specifically marketed for the X1/9 application as a 'plug and play' kit. The benefit to yours would have to be lower selling point and/or better features. Both of which might be difficult to do, but I am hoping you can.
As for input, allow provisions for programming upgrades; turbos, nitrous oxide, performance head/exhaust/induction, etc.