What say you about this?

Fiatfiend

True Classic
This isn't done yet, but I think it will work. The engine cover closes over it.
coolair.jpg

Wow
Can’t say do I like it or not, it’s too impressive or expressive :)

If goal was flow, then gofred pipe makes it a bit slower

Aaam hmm pipe that have grooves, so in that way it can be easily bent..(I’m still learning English, and sometimes take risk-trying to use words in Latvian-maybe they will work :D )

*corrugated

Last edited:
No problem. Well, it's enormous pipe. 4-inches in diameter. And it goes through a high-flow air filter and then to the side scoop when it's done. The air will be fresh exterior air and I'm hoping for a small ram-air effect.

Was at a car show this weekend, the car across from me was a '71 Chevelle with a Chevy Bow Tie 572 cu in crate engine, and had a twin Vortech supercharger setup on it. The intake "cap" on top of the carb that received the two feed ducts from the two Vortech superchargers looked remarkably like what your pic shows on top of the X carb.

It's a low profile cap from Spectre. I would have done it with a stock round Fiat breather, but I didn't have one. After I looked at the pretty aluminum caps, I knew I'd go that direction.

I had to make a round adapter to fit the Weber 34 under there.

Hmmm, not sure whether I like it, or not!! Maybeeee......a bit too "clunky-looking" for me? :(

cheers, IanL - NZ

That looks very nice. Well done!

FYI for those wanting something similar:
Citroen DS used 34DATRs. They can with a very similar carb snorkle. They can be sourced on eBay UK, DE and AUS, fairly often. US eBay occasionally has them, listed.

Only one problem I can see. Now you need to detail the rest of the engine bay to live up to the new standard. LOTS of polishing in your future! heh. ;)

This isn't done yet, but I think it will work. The engine cover closes over it.View attachment 11988