Intro and a bunch of engine/gearbox rebuild questions

B0b

Daily Driver
I am working on my 5th X1/9, a 1974 that si completely stock except for removing the air pump, and which is essentially free of rust. It is currently somewhat dismantled for a refresh of the engine and gearbox, and a thorough inspection. This car is identical to my first X1/9, which I bought new when I graduated from engineering school. That car was the only one n Saskatchewan, and one of 6 west of Ontario, as Fiat had just started importing them.
That car passed on to another member of this board, under whose care it survived a few Toronto winters before eventually turning into a rusted heap in mis parents driveway.
A while later, he found a more or less abandoned X1/9 missing its motor, and we decided to turn it into a autocross car. Stripped it completely, although we didn't cut off the windshield. We convinced Fiat to give us a slightly damaged 1500 that we hotrodded with an Abarth cam, a fairly big DCNF carb, etc. Lowered and stiffened a LOT ( probably too much) and put on slicks. Fun car but not competitive because of the class we wound up in. That car is still around, having gone through several metamorphoses.
My third X1/9 was an exercise in turbocharging, in a pre-electronic age. Built a couple of manifold iterations( pulling through a carburetor) , fooled around with some turbo sizes, and built a distributor that had vacuum advance and pressure retard. I determined the retard curve but trial and error, destroying the bottom end due to high speed detonation. Once sorted, it was a fun car that got passed on to a young man; lost track of it completely./