2020 500 all electric

JimD

Waiting for Godot...
Youtube offered this video to me this morning. I had heard that the 500 was discontinued in the US, but hadn't heard it was electric only going forward. I think electric cars make a lot of sense as city cars.

The video is heavy on marketing.

From what I've been seeing, electric vehicles are really becoming popular in some parts of Europe. Particularly with the extremely high cost of petrol making it actually less expensive to run electric (unlike here in America), and with many European regions having very strict emissions standards, plus expensive fees to drive petrol vehicles in heavily populated areas. Similarly LP power has been quite popular for the same reasons. But until those factors change the balance of operating cost in America I think it will continue to be a very limited market for electric vehicles here. Eventually it will get there, we often follow European trends.

I have been driving my home built EV for 20 years now and really like the feel.
I average about 3000 miles a year and figuring on the high side it cost $123 in electricity.
In my state and several others the powers that be have decided they are losing fuel tax revenue so here there is now a, $200 for all electric and $100 for hybrid cars, registration fee added on.
I am now paying a higher tax than if I had left the car running on gas.
Still like the electric though.

$200 for all electric and $100 for hybrid cars, registration fee added on
That's the first I've heard of that. Sure seems counterproductive toward saving the environment, if that was the government's true interest. But I'm sure money will always win over intentions. Sad indeed.

I have been driving my home built EV for 20 years now and really like the feel.
I average about 3000 miles a year and figuring on the high side it cost $123 in electricity.