Scuderia Ferric Oxide

Maybe you need to teach your fellow drivers to shift with more care? Even as a street driver I know not to jam gears on my X.
Wouldn't a Hewland race box price knock you over budget all by itself?

Driver dependent, driving situation dependent. Lots happen over many hours of racing, drivers get into situations where abusing the oily bits happen and could be absolutely un-avoidable. This is the nature and reality of endurance racing.

As for budget, non-issue. There is NO possible way the rotary powered LeMons X could win, we know this, Jay and the entire LeMons crew know this. Fuel consumption is WAY too high for endurance racing and more. Our participation in LeMons is NOT about winning. We have already far busted the LeMons budget by using a peripheral port rotary. These are specialty race only rotary motors (idle about 2,500-3,000 rpm, power comes on about 5,000-6,000 rpm to about 9,500rpm) with a finite life (to date, I've put together more than a few). They are not low budget to obtain or run. BTW, the rotary X likes to slowly digest CV joints due to the power transmitted and mechanical grip of the tires-suspension-chassis. This is one item in a long list of budget busting items on the LeMons X. What has made the LeMons X notable enough for Jay and folks to do that feature story about the rotary X is the engineering, applying what ever parts needed to make it work and stay working producing lap times that would surprise many. It is much the same as Eye Sore Racing, Evil Genius and other LeMons teams that do this racing stuff good. One can build a car and team specifically to win at LeMons, or one could do LeMons for fun and all related. What I'll say about LeMons, if it is done to win, it completely changes how and what needs to be done car and team organization and driver wise.

Bernice

Maybe you need to teach your fellow drivers to shift with more care? Even as a street driver I know not to jam gears on my X.