Trailering an 850

HazN

True Classic
I just sold my trailer. It was made for big 'merican cars. It only had one inch from tire inside to the center drop-off. It took the skill of a safe cracker to put my 850 based Lombardi aboard. The question is this: I'm considering renting a U-Haul trailer to go to FFO and such. Will it fit?

Thanks for any input.

Hi Haz,

The uhaul website doesn't give specs on the car hauler. I have used them a couple times for X1/9s, but I have no 850 experience. I think your best bet to get the correct info is to drive over to your local Uhaul and measure the trailer yourself.

drive over and test load the car. I have seen people do this many times and never a charge for it.

(I would suggest using Penske over Uhaul) a little more $ but if you have a problem Penske has a much better track record of taking car of you.

I am thinking not so much... I have moved Xs and Yugos around more than I care to think and Uhaul does not recognize the trailer as an option for moving either of those cars... The track is not sufficient to roll on the trailer. This doesn't mean it would not work only too close for their comfort. Only option is the tow dolly. This is on the website but if you go to the rental office they use the same info. The days of people onsite thinking or making a decision are almost 20 years in the rearview mirror. Tow dolly would require axle removal...
You can tell them anything you want in terms of what you are carrying but any troubles and the truth will rear it's ugly head! One could only imagine what a mess that would be.
You might do a dolly with towable dollys on the rear? Not sure if you can even rent those but they would negate the need to do axle work. .
Good luck
Regards

Thanks all for the thoughts., If my aged, failing memory is to be trusted, I think I have seen 600's and even 500's on one of these trailers. I just can't be sure. I guess I will need to stop by my local U-Haul emporium and measure.