Project DCOE

Interesting, I like real world testing like yours. Ed suggested I get a wireless meat thermometer to check temps in various locations of the engine bay and I'll probably do that when everything is buttoned back up.

Was installing new manifold gaskets and found the new ones had smaller openings than the head or intake and exhaust manifolds. Another set of new gaskets was the same and in fact the old ones had the same problem. I guess the head was ported at one point but the engine builder didn't bother opening up the gaskets. The header flange ports are much bigger than the even the exhaust port opening but nothing much I can do about that. I suppose the proper task is to use my air grinder to open up the gasket passages, I'll practice on the old gaskets.

This is my first time playing with DCOEs and I did not realize there is an inspection port for each venturi that lets you see where the throttle plate edge is relation to the transition holes. What an amazing "tool" to allow you to see if the throttle shaft is bent, if the two carbs are mechanically balanced or if your linkage is really letting your throttle plates close.

I was thinking about header wrap for those sections where the carbs are too close. But a baffle between the headers and the driveshaft boot also make sense. Thanks for sharing. It's nice to know the paths others did with similar modifications.

Hi. Put idf 40. And i can tell you a good setup. My 1500 tunning before i have dcnf 40. Is very better carb idf 40. More power for all rpm. And more torgue. I have the diferents power dcnf vs idf. 138 full. F11. 180air 50 indle 32 venturi. If you dont want idf because you have manifold for dcoe my opinion is put dhla 40 dellorto F. The car for sure take more hp more torgue and tjob perfect for all rpm than dcoe.the diferents is big. Some times 4 5hp.

The header flange ports are much bigger than the even the exhaust port opening but nothing much I can do about that.