1987 Bertone Revival

CandBMotorworks

C&BMotorworks
I figured that rather than have a bunch of posts in different threads, I would start my own thread in the hopes some of you would follow along and offer bits of wisdom here and there to shorten my learning curve. Even though this is my 3rd X I feel I am still learning, in part because the three cars I have had have all be significantly different (a 74 1.3l, an 80 1.5l carb, and now this 87 FI).

So, a bit about this car. I picked it up for next to nothing. The prior owner got the car as a kid (he's a 20 something ex-military working on his master's degree). I think he told me drove is less than 1000 mi in the years he owned it (I think he had it for over 3 years)...maybe less than 100. When I got it, it was sitting on a gravel/dirt trucking lot that his father owned. It looked to be o.k., if a bit tired. The selling point at the time was that even though it had been sitting, it started right up and ran smoothly.

A week later he tows it to my home, where it has sat for another month. Today I rolled it into the garage, hooked up a brand new battery I'd bought for it, turned the key, and a lights came on in the dash (I think the low oil pressure, because it was red). Turned the key to start the car and I got a spark off the battery and then nothing. Now nothing comes on. Best I can figure at the moment is that a fuse blew. None of the fuses under the glove box look like a 30 amp starting circuit. I don't recall there being any other fuses in the stock X, but this being an 87, the fuses and such are very different than they were in the 80 or 74. For one it uses modern plastic/blade fuses instead of the glass tubes.