600 with a 903 wiring question

dietzte

Hi, new member so apologies if this is the wrong place to post this:

I have 1966 Fiat 600(Argentinian) with a 1970 850 Spider 903cc engine; it has an alternator marked "Fiat" with three terminals, an electric fan, and a regular(non electronic) distributor. I am looking for the simplest way to connect all the engine compartment wiring(tail lights are bundled separately) with their proper relays as neatly and simply as possible. I have a two-pole Marelli regulator, along with a couple of relays(two after market and one OEM) that were connected "creatively". There is also a ceramic resistor on the firewall. I also want to add a fan relay switch connected to a sensor in the lower radiator hose(I have the parts).

I have seen lots of diagrams, but I'd really appreciate a simple description/diagram of how the wires should connect to the alternator, coil, and related relays. I realize this is a relatively simple problem, but I'm a newbie to Fiats.

Thanks in advance.

Here is a wiring diagram I made to install an 850 type alternator in a 600. You will need two Sipea 5230 relays (or equivalent). One relay cuts off the alternator field circuit so the battery doesn't drain down when engine isn't running. This relay can be mounted next to the regulator like in photo of my car. The other relay is for the no-charge light on the dash and can be mounted under the dash.
img011 (2).jpg

The easiest thing to do of course, is just retain the original 600 generator.

I have an electric fan in my 600 and just wired the fan motor through a thermostatic switch I installed on the radiator. A fan shouldn't draw that much current that it needs a relay.

Attachments

• DSCF1331 (1).JPG
    DSCF1331 (1).JPG
    318.8 KB · Views: 523
Last edited:
Thank you. I will look over the illustration and follow up.

Your installation looks terrific! Just what I had in mind.