Degreeing the cam

AngleT

Always more tuning to do
I have a PBS S-2 cam that I'm trying to degree. This is my first time doing this and have some questions. First, here is the link for the cam data
http://pbseng.com/Camdata.html
From what I've read, the cam should be degreed at .050" of lift. When the dial indicator rises (or in our case drops) to .050", look at your degree wheel (that TDC has been verified) and look at what it is reading. Then go through the valve stroke and when it drops to that same .050" reading on the dial indicator, take another reading from the degree wheel.
This seems fairly simple, but the references on the cam data spread sheet have me confused. Should I be looking at lobe center with reference to the degree wheel on the crank? Or should I be looking at the duration of lift @ .050"? The duration number seems a little large considering there are only 360 degrees in a circle.

Just trying to get the reference numbers stright before I set the dial indicator up.

Thanks for the help.

Your .050 to .050 reading will give you total duration, the half way point is your lobe center. Set that in reference to the crank, ie whe the crank has rotated 112 degrees ATDC. Remember too that the crank rotates twice for every cam rotation.

The way I used to set up a cam was find my peak lift, decide what lobe center I wanted to use, if one wasn't supplied and rotate the cam back that number of degrees to give me TDC. Because the cam spins 1/2 of crank, 112 degrees crank meant I would rotate back the cam 56 degrees if my wheel was set on the cam pulley. Mark the cambox, and then bring the pistons up to TDC on build and I was done.

Hope this helps.

Last edited:
brain fart

There are two rotations to the crank for every 1 rotation of the cam. This equals 720 degrees of crank rotation. :rolleyes:

It made a little more since after I watched this video on YouTube
(This video turned out to be very wrong. Do not believe everything you see on YouTube!)