My Fiberglass Project

socalx19

True Classic
Much respect to all of you fabricators out there who are making your own things for one-of customization or mass reproduction. This is my first attempt at using fiberglass to make a custom part and it's fun/nasty stuff. A big thank you to Ricardo for tips and confidence - learn from the master, I say.

I've been thinking of a design to "hide" all this stuff in the front compartment. Something that has a clean finish to it and looks factory (as much as possible).

C667DB37-EA92-4703-BA20-804117C43FBD-628-0000004644CCA502_zps7e7da95c.jpg

I wanted the design to be one-piece that could be removed easily and required no more than 2 wing nuts on each side to hold it firmly in place. It should also allow the top to be stored, wasn't heavy, allows cooling for the amplifier.

As I have no skill whatsoever with fiberglass materials, this is an experiment and I'm hoping this initial product will suffice. I think I will cover it with a carpet material to match the molded carpet that is already in there - depends on how well it comes out.

First was making the template.

I used some wood to make the template sturdy in order to hold the cardboard at the correct angle - something I'm really glad I did once I started to apply the resin and mats as a fair amount of weight from the wet resin would have distorted the template.

I then propped it up on a broken tripod I have lying around.

Then it was time to add the fiberglass.

http://youtu.be/UmD9CMBSTrI

Current state - waiting to cure after which I'll sand then add another layer of fiber before releasing from the template for cutting/sanding/etc/etc....

More later!

Rudy,

having done a fair amount of fibreglass work, the carboard template you made will not come away from the fibreglass you have laid on top...