My X1/9 ownership conundrum

Ananda

True Classic
Since I wrecked my Mini in July, the X1/9 has been my daily driver. Given that I am a beginner mechanic and that I don’t have a garage or driveway, I am finally starting to wake up to some of the realities of owning a classic car. As the kinks have been ironed out enough for it to become a decent daily driver, I have grown to really appreciate this car, a lot. I would like to hold onto and keep improving it. That is the dream. However the more I love this car, the more I want the best for it and it is dawning on me that I may not be the best for it. Sitting out in the rain may not be the best for it. This is the conundrum. Do I keep loving it and pray that I don’t end up ruining it or do I find a more worthy caretaker and search for a less special guinea pig to experiment on.
I’m putting this out to the group because I am curious to see what people think and I’m hoping to rouse some collective wisdom that may help me find some clarity.

Last edited:
If you care for it and are willing to keep it up I see no reason. How often does it actually rain in Oakland? My ‘85 existed for years in LA with sprinklers regularly stirring the detritus from an olive tree around on its paintwork, since then is has been garage most of the time but when it has been my more or less daily, it has sat in the rain and in west Michigan it rains a fair amount.

It’s a car and at the moment its not worth so much that you are losing value by using it in the normal fashion for a car of this sort. Being a Bertone it is pretty well rust proofed. I would take out the front fender liners and ensure there is no packed in dirt etc back there that could encourage rust and verify that all the drain holes in the rockers and doors are clean and free.