Naive questions

Loren Field

True Classic
Hi 850 lovers – I have a couple of naïve question, and since things are slow on the forum I though I would ask 😊. First, my ’71 spider has an intermittent electrical gremlin that I am trying to track down. Sometimes when starting (usually after the engine is hot) the red charging light on the tach will stay on and I can hear a sort of groaning noise coming from under the driver’s side of the dash. Once I start moving or if I get the revs up the light goes out and the sound stops. Does the groaning noise suggest that the charge indicator relay, and if so does anyone know a replacement? Second, is there a preferred material to use when making a gasket for the distributor base (it has developed a slow leak)? Car is below, and I have been playing with it for the past 25 years. Many thanks, Loren

1599939593392.png

Attachments

• 1599939567638.png
    1599939567638.png
    1.2 MB · Views: 89
The sound thing with a relay is indeed odd. You can get a replacement relay for it (Sipea 5230) from several of the vendors, Fiat Plus offers it here: http://www.fiatplus.com/ALTERNATOR-CHARGE-RELAY.html

Before replacing it however I would remove it, clean the contacts, wire ends and the ground to the unit to see if that clears up the systems odd noises which could indicate arcing which isn’t good.

It is not unusual to have an issue with idle speed and initial charging, the X is known for it.

Lovely car, you are an excellent steward of it.

Also feel free to post anytime with questions, this part of the forum is slow because of a lack of posts, not a lack of interest. All the best

Karl