One of my last new products debuts

kmead

Old enough to know better
As many of you know I am a product designer working for Steelcase a large office furniture manufacturer. Most years we preview new products at Neocon which is a large furniture show in Chicago.

During Covid my job changed substantially from supporting new product development to supporting Steelcases “specials” organization which accounts for around 25% of sales. The main difference between these is the scale and duration of projects and investment levels to produce solutions. The other is that it is mainly making adjustments and additions to existing product lines versus creating things that are new to the world. My experience and skills make me very adept at making those modifications to meet customer desires and needs.

Which brings me to the point of this post, two years ago I was working on a product when my job changed. I worked through the remaining elements of the product as I was also picking up my new job

Everwall has now been shown publicly at Neocon. This is likely my last new product to be introduced during my career at Steelcase. From here on it will a variety of customer specific solutions and what’s we refer to as specials to standard products.

We are also showing one of my specials to standard products which is a double glazed butt joined glass wall for our Light Scale Glazing product line which I worked on last year.

1655251712951.jpeg

Boring stuff I know but it’s what I do :)

Karl,
This office space has a beautiful design. Anyone would find it energizing and you can be proud of it. I know from my own career that what seemed boring to me at the time was fantastic to others and in retirement I look back fondly on my accomplishments. Way to go!

Karl,