Question on DC to AC Inverters

I find that I need an inverter contraption from a place like Radio Shack that I can plug into my cigarette light and convert to 110 volts.
I need to power at least 400W (fog machine and external radio).

Any suggestions here? I am considering driving the TimeX (whoa I just came up with the perfect plate) in a local Christmas parade and I need to outdo Santa.

What's the problems I will run into? Besides an angry santa?

Vinnie

An Angry Fuse!

Sorry to say that the cigarette lighter circuit is nowhere nearly beefy enough for a 400 Watt inverter. Its fuse is 8 Amps which will not even deliver 100 Watts total and is shared by other components. An inverter of that size will require a 40 Amp circuit for cool reliable operation.

We (and I'm an engineer) tend to take electricity for granted: It's easy to grumble about paying our electric utility ten cents for a kilowatt-hour, but the mechanical equivalent is one-horsepower for an hour. A 1HP pump can move a lot of water in an hour. More than I'll carry up a flight of stairs for a dime.

OK help me out here. What can I do...

Other than towing a small generator behind me, is there anything I can do to have this power onboard? When I did my last Car show, I was plugged into the hosts building outlet. All day power, no problem. I need something to give me enough power for an hour or so.

I have a battery power jumper than I can plug into and carry in the front hood, but it only lasts 10 minutes. I guess that gives me an idea of how much juice the fog machine needs. I could also downsize the fogger to a 200 amps.

Power diet

400 Watts is the majority of your stock alternator's output. Should the cooling fan turn on -- possible in a slow parade -- you would be in an overload situation.

The only thing that comes to mind is renting one of those tiny and quiet Honda portables if you can not cut your consumption.

Or use dry ice... <NT>