Rear caliper replaced

toddr124

Hagerstown, MD
I finally started working on the rear brakes of the blue 86 X1/9. Rear passenger brakes were frozen in place. Removed the pad, yes only one side still had any pad. Went to turn i the rear piston and it was frozen in place. Took a real long pipe and I was able to turn the piston. Now the piston turns hard, but does not go in.
Any idea beside replacing the rear caliper?

I'm no mechanic, but when it did happened to me, I used a large C-clamp to compress the piston and a screwdriver in the slot, Under the C-clamp to turn the piston. every 1/4 or 1/2 turn, I tightened the C-clamp. It worked...sometimes.

For goodness sakes, take it to John and let him and Gildo get it out. Using tools with long pipes attached on brakes is probably not a great idea....on crank shaft nuts it's a great idea...…….

I had the same problem when I rebuilt my calipers. I found what looked to be a cut off piece of old shift linkage laying around the shop. This worked for me, to screw my pistons off and back on. When trying to compress the piston, you have to apply a good deal of pressure (while turning the piston clockwise).

20180817_160601.jpg
20180817_160614.jpg
20180817_160644.jpg

This is what you're screwing on to. You have to turn the piston until it draws the threads at the end of the E-Brake actuator shaft all the way into the back of the piston. It is a course thread, but takes more turns than you would think to seat the piston. Go slow and take your time.
20180817_174808.jpg

Last edited:
If it's that stuck...you really should take the pistons out to inspect them for any scoring, and see if the seals are okay.
Also, the calipers aren't difficult to rebuild, but they're a little finicky if you've never done it before. I have lots of photos if you need them for reference.

Todd, I didn't realize that you've been working on these for waaaaay longer than me,and probably don't need any help from me!