Reverse gear failures

Steve Hoelscher

True Classic
I figured I should probably post this as a public service message. Especially with consideration that I have seen two of these instances in the last few months. And given that this is a known failure that I have been preaching about for more than a couple of decades...

Please don't try to roll start your X1/9 (or any car for that matter) in reverse. Or maybe I shouldn't post this because it would reduce my transmission business ;)

So I tore down a customer core the other evening in preparation for another build. I knew the transmission had a tooth broken off reverse, likely from trying to bump start the car in reverse. But there is no way to know the extent of the damage. I was pretty sure that the input shaft was the one with the missing tooth due to the frequency of the "bang" when backing up.

And to deter you from thinking this is something you might get away with once in an emergency let me advise you that you certainly won't and the results are pretty catastrophic.

This is the input shaft. The missing tooth was attached to the magnet.

0419181437.jpg
0419181437a.jpg

The reverse gear on the input shaft is machined into the shaft. There is no way to replace or repair the shaft. The otherwise perfect input shaft is now expensive scrap metal.

Of course the missing tooth and the bang you hear when backing spread its cancer to the reverse idler gear and the 1-2 slider. Both of which are also now scrap.

As is a typical of this kind of damage the reverse idler shaft was bent, which is also destined for the scrap pile. You can see the contact point at each end of the shaft and the gap down the side of the straight edge. This is a 14mm ('81-'82) transmission.

0419181440.jpg