Rust at bottom of windshield

Status
Not open for further replies.

User1

RETIRED Admin, pm OFF
<TABLE cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=2><TABLE width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="PADDING-TOP: 4px" vAlign=top colSpan=2>[FONT=Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Tahoma, Arial]Rust at bottom of windshield<!-- google_ad_section_end -->

[/FONT][FONT=Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Tahoma, Arial]August 23 1999 at 9:19 AM[FONT=Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Tahoma, Arial][/FONT][/FONT]</TD><TD vAlign=top align=right>[FONT=Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Tahoma, Arial]Arthur Shingler [/FONT]</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=bottom colSpan=3><HR></TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=3>[FONT=Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Tahoma, Arial]<!-- google_ad_section_start -->I'm certain this question or similar ones are posted with regularity, but forgive me -- I'm new to this discussion and only recently returned to the world of the X1/9, after having been gone since I sold a cherry '79 in '85. Now I have an '81 (I've owned it for three weeks) which has a few projects, most in the catagory of routine maintainance (these routine jobs, however, are greater in number than I originally thought, but that's the joy of a project).

One of the many concerns deals with some minor rusting at the bottom of my windshield, nothing major (aah. The joys of living in Southern California). The windshield is firmly seated -- I checked by openning both doors, removing the lid and gently pushing the windshield out from inside. No movement (I, of course, did not push with any great force, however). Nonetheless, very small rust boils are visible at base of windshield -- only a few -- 10 or so -- sporadically across bottom -- each only a couple of millimeters in diameter and about a millimeter high.