Temp gauge rising

Mike Schofield

True Classic
I’m new to the xweb so forgive me if this thread has already been talked about.
Anyhow, as some may know, I just picked up my 82 x a couple weeks ago. Currently
It does not have the injector cooler in it but Tony K has generously said he’ll donate one that he has for it.
The question is, today when I was out driving it around I noticed that a few times the temp gauge rose to about three quarters. I was only out for about a half hour.
Would the injector pump help this condition?
What are some of the mods people have done to help with the cooling of their x?

The injector fan only runs when the engine is off. It is intended to cool the injectors after the engine shuts down and is throwing off the heat it built up on the drive. So, no, the injector fan won't affect running temps.

If you let the car idle, does the radiator fan come on? If not, check out the wiring, fuses and relays in that circuit.

Check the coolant level in the reservoir tank, the tank should be about 2/3 full when cool. Once that is checked, you should try bleeding the cooling system using the radiators bleed valve. The valve is accessed thru the frunk up near the nose on the driver's side. IIRC you need an 8MM hex turn work the valve. There is an access hole that you can't see too well, but it is there.
X_rad_bleed_location.JPG

Gently try to open the valve. If there is air in the system you should hear if coming out prior to coolant dripping out. If the rad is full with no air trapped, coolant will drip out right away.

It could be that you need a new radiator.

Thanks for the reply, I will listen for the fan.
I’m not sure if I recall it turning on.
The reservoir is about halfway so maybe a little low.
Will reply with my findings.

I have changed some wires and now have an indicator on the dash for when the fans are on. I like knowing. (also an override switch is a good idea).