What is considered a "reasonable" redline for a 1500?

I've got about 100 miles on my 1500 engine now, and have managed to get it in a pretty good state of tune. It is using the same intake, exhaust, and cam that my 1300 had. The 1300 liked to pull past 8K, and back in the day, the common knowledge was that the 1300s held up just fine with excursions up into that range. This new engine seems rather eager to rev past 7K but I am trying to be a little conservative until I get more information. The bottom end is completely stock to the best of my knowledge. What is considered a reasonably safe upper limit for a 1500?

First thing I would do is verify the accuracy of your tach. I had an X where the tach was off by 1,000 rpm near redline...meaning I was trying to spin it to 8,000 rpm instead of 7,000.

I'm not a SOHC expert but believe I read somewhere (factory literature) that power peaks at 5,500 on a stock FI engine. I like to rev mine between 4,000 and 5,700 rpm. It seems like anything higher on a stock engine is just peeing in the wind. My tach's redline is 6,500 though. It would be nice to see some power and torque curves for these engines.

First thing I would do is verify the accuracy of your tach. I had an X where the tach was off by 1,000 rpm near redline...meaning I was trying to spin it to 8,000 rpm instead of 7,000.
I checked my tach many years ago against a pretty good dwell tach. It was way off below 1K but not too bad at the higher rpms. I've got an oscilloscope here that I could use for a precise calibration - would be interesting to check. The tach is the same one in the dash that the 1300 was connected to. Would be interesting to see if I was winding it past 9K instead of 8K.