azxhead

True Classic
If any of you have removed the door handles, you may be familiar with some of the problems that can happen. Broken pushrod ends, bent linkages, and the dreaded broken pawl.

On my 78, the pushrod ends practically disintegrated on one side and on the other they were holding on quite robustly. I ended up snapping the ball off the pawl on the passenger side.

Here is my temporary fix - Being a former R/C Modeler, I still have a few ball-joints and swivel links for model aircraft. For this project, I used 2 DU-BRO part# 884 - HEAVY DUTY 4-40 BALL LINKS (maybe 5$ for both). For a permanent fix, I will use 6-32 Ball Links and Turnbuckles made by Traxxis. These are made for serious off-road RC trucks. When these parts are used, I will update the post

The old ball joint on the lock linkage in the door is held in kind of like a rivet, simply grind of the back side and it pops right out. Then install the new DU-BRO part, remember which way it faces.

On the pawl, grind down the remnants of the old ball to make a flat surface, then drill and tap a 4-40 hole where the old ball would be. Thread the new ball in securely (when permanent, I will use Loctite) and reattach it to the door handle. Grind the protruding shaft to leave a flat surface.

Using the old pushrod as a guide for length, use a piece of 4-40 threaded rod that is about 4.75" long and thread on the plastic ball cups.

Then put it in and test...

locked...

unlocked

Hope this helps someone in the future - Please feel free to make suggestions to make this work even better. This was just a spur of moment idea. I have an idea for those who just want to repair the pawl and use the existing pushrods. Use 8-32 Swivel Ball Links at the pawl and thread in the 4mm - .07 shaft. I ordered these parts and will post a few pics when they are fitted.

Last edited:
ingenuity: requirement for happy Xxxing
Well done!! I hope I never have to do it. (I never lock my car so I probably won't have to!)