3D scanning services?

MikeHynes

True Classic
I have one good rear spoiler tip that I would like to have 3D scanned so that it could be 3D printed. I see that there are several outfits out there that can provide the service such as:

My question is, has anyone had any experience with any of these 3D scanning services?

20240202_150942.jpg20240202_150952.jpg20240202_151001.jpg

I haven't used a service to scan, but I do have a scanner (or 2). But I'm not keen on disassembling my wing. Certainly not before spring! 😄

I haven't used a service to scan, but I do have a scanner (or 2). But I'm not keen on disassembling my wing. Certainly not before spring! 😄
I have no experience with 3D printing. Do you have any tips or advice that you would share before I send my wing tip out to a scanning service?
Also, I wouldn't recommend you disassemble your wing. Mine had rusty screws and bolts and was not easy to disassemble.

According to this article
https://all3dp.com/2/best-3d-scanner-app-iphone-android-photogrammetry/
You can use your phone, some of them are free so might be worth a try. This seems especially true to anyone who has a more recent iPhone as, according to my reading, have built in lidar which makes the scanning quicker and more accurate.
I keep getting tempted to dip my toe into 3d printing. But the longer I put it off the cheaper and the better quality the printers get.
Still one day....
I think the more X1/9 parts we scan and have in the wiki the better for all of us and helping keep out cars working as they should.

According to this article
https://all3dp.com/2/best-3d-scanner-app-iphone-android-photogrammetry/
You can use your phone, some of them are free so might be worth a try. This seems especially true to anyone who has a more recent iPhone as, according to my reading, have built in lidar which makes the scanning quicker and more accurate.