Confused in Iowa... Another Timing thread

sonosml

IA_Mike
Hello, I'm pretty new to XWeb, I've visited randomly over the summer. I'm not new to Fiats. I've had my first spider since 1986, added #2 in 2009, then added the X1/9 as a father son project this past year. It sat for most of the summer and now we are working on it. The car had sat "properly stored" for 8 years prior to us. I had the motor running when in Feb when I got it home. Then it sat, we had it running about 4 months ago and it sat. I told my son we could start working on it. Well I came home from work and he proudly announced he changed the spark plugs and wires. I yelled NOOOooooo. He swears he changed the wires one at a time. Then I made a major rookie mistake, I popped the timing belt off WITHOUT lining up the timing marks. Well I had trouble with getting the replacement belt on and I believe the cam gear moved a tooth or two. I figured 1 or 2 teeth it should be ok to rotate the engine to the timing mark on the crank (without colliding pistons and valves). So I rotated by hand using a wrench on the crank. slowly. Never felt any thumps or hesistations. So I lined up the timing mark on the crank, but according the the haynes manual, I should have a dimple mark on the pulley that should line up with the "thingie" on the snail motor mount. My pulley didn't have that I have a groove on the back side of the pulley and the arrow on the sheild that holds the Timing cover. But I'm suppose to have a 1300, from what I read here, those marks are suppose to be on the 1500's. My block castings have 128.... in the them, so doesn't that mean I have a 1300 block. Also the tensioner bearing I got from Vicks is too big. The belt won't fit, so I had to put the old bearing (smaller in diameter) back on. Vicks told me the 1300 has the larger bearing and the 1500 has the smaller bearing. Hum?? While rotating I don't think I collided anything, I still have compression in the 125-130 range. The car won't start now, backf