Gasket sealant

JimD

Waiting for Godot...
I am still working on my "new" 1500 and I am about to replace the gaskets on the front and rear crank seal carriers, water jackets, oil pan etc. The guy at AutoZone told me to use "Permatex 2 Form-a Gasket" sealant.

I bought a tube, but before I started I thought I would ask if this sealant will be OK. I would hate to have to do this again.

Also, what sealant do use for a head gasket? Or do you even use sealant? When I took the head off this engine the head gasket just lifted off clean.

Can you tell this is my first time doing these tasks? :)

Jim, I use

the copper-colored Gasket sealer. I believe it's still a Permatex product.
But I don't use it on a head gasket. For that, I use the gasket by itself.
Reason I use it is because of the wide temp range and when I dis-assemble the parts, they break away clean.
Also, it sounds like the stuff you've got will also work fine.

Thanks Bob

I read the descriptions of the two products on the Permatex website and I think I will go back and get a tube of the copper sealant. It is recommended for a wider range of applications including exhaust/intake manifolds in addition to things like oil pans. I think that the copper stuff is the way to go.

Thanks for the advice. I am glad I asked. :)

Permatex High Tack

I've used this on all gaskets except the head and exhaust manifold gaskets on my X since 1999. It has always been a winner for me.

Thanks Bob

Wait... didn't I already thank Bob? :sun: HA!

Well thanks to you to Bob. ;) When I go back to the store I will pay more attention to the variety of sealants.

Well... that takes care of SOME of the Bob's here...

But ya know... there are the PERMATEX WARS just like the OIL WARS, TIRE WARS and the SPARK PLUG WARS...

HA!

Permatex makes a VAST amount of COLORS and types of sealants and you'll get as many OPINIONS as there are BELLY BUTTONS.