Hello from a 100% Fiat Newbie + some 850 spider questions

Bloku

Expert Noob
Hello. I am new to the fiat world as you guys and girls can tell by the title. I have about 5 years of experiance with problemed, rusty, and just plain anoying cars. I am 16 and have built my own car along with helping my brother with his own car and lots of my dad's projects (my car is a 1971 karmann ghia. It is my avatar here). I can mig weld pretty well if I have the metal to do so, so rust is not that big of a problem. I recently started to like fiats after I was out in an old vw salvage yard looking for some parts for my vw with my dad when I stumbled upon a little sports car looking thing. I went to it quickly and found that it was a fiat 850 spider. There was another one next to it too. I had only ever known that fiat made the 500 so I was like "was dis?" :mallet: . I pulled the seat out of the other fiat and put in in the car and sat in the leaf filled car. I really liked it, but there was a lot missing so I left it without looking back

Now, skip forwards a year and the car has started to really grow on me to the point of wanting to go out there and get the darn thing. The owner (85 year old widowed woman) said I could have the car for $50. It has a motor and trans. I was also able to shift through the gears only when the clutch was pushed (it is also the only car there, out of 100 vws, that has a motor left lol. The car is pretty far gone so I can really make it whatever I want it to be. I am making the hour drive to go look at it again on this sunday.

I want to turn the car into a crappy autoX car like my father's mx-5 (just older and crappier :) ). I want to build out the stock 843cc motor to about 80hp with the stock stroke and for it to scream all the way up to something like 8000rpms! Can someone please shoot me a link to some good 850 engine builds? I kind of want to paint some stripe down the length of the car and put race numbers on the side :D .

Question time...