Hub swap... at all possible?

Zona

Jase
I've seen on forums for other cars where they will sometimes swap hub assemblies from newer cars into older cars for various reasons (most often to get a 5 lug pattern) but I've not seen any discussion of it here (yes, I searched). It seems like going from our super obscure 4x98 pattern to the ubiquitous 4x100 pattern or even one of the 5 lug patterns would be pretty common if it were possible/ feasible since wheels that fit are so limited. Has anyone done it? I am no mechanic and have no clue how complicated or expensive it would be.

BTW no, I'm not a purist and care little about preserving the car's "authenticity" or whatever, I'm all for improvement even if it dashes my chances at concourse events in the future :p

What I've been wanting to do (but havn't) is get my ruler and caliper out and measure all the important dimensions of the hub (upright). My next plan was to go to the U-pull-it junk yard and spend a few hours seeing what bolts up.

I know that VW's and even my old porsche 944 look like they might be adaptable, but close only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades...

If I get time this year I mean to follow up on my plan.

I'd try & go with Volvo hubs/bearings - they'd never wear out :grin:

...but....5x108 ain't so common either :rolleyes:

I have a project going (slowly) to switch to VW Rabbit stuff...

But the project replaces the entire suspension. If you are just talking about changing the hub and leaving the rest of the suspension alone, you can either:

1. Have the 4x100 bolt pattern drilled onto the X1/9 hub, or
2. Try to find a 4x100 hub that can be machined to fit in the X1/9 hub carrier.