Motor is Toast - Time to Rebuild

Jeff N

Your Mileage May Vary
The engine that's been giving me fits for the last two years finally decided to just give it up and die. The compression test showed 30, 30, 120, 90, which probably explains the bad vibration that it developed. I'm guessing worn rings and possibly a blown head gasket for the two low cylinders. :dead:

After weighing my options, it looks like rebuilding it will probably be better than finding another motor and shipping it in. I have a buddy who is an Alfa Romeo/Ferrari/foreign exotic mechanic who's agreed to rebuild it for me. I've just got to pull it and take it to him.

At this point, I'm looking for suggestions for what I should do on a slim budget while I'm in there. A performance cam is a possibility, but not sure which would be a good option. Any other input would be appreciated. Also any suggestions to help make dropping and installing the engine easier, since I've never done it before.

:help:

Gee, there's an open-ended question. The only way you'd get more responses on this list is if you asked which color was best. ;-)

Knowing the year and current specification of your car would be a big help. Your avatar seems to be a 1300 car but assuming that's what you're working on would be a leap of faith. It'd also help to know how you currently use the car, how you plan to use the car, and what other mods (if any) have been done.

The more you tell us the better targeted the advice will be.

///Mike

More info

Sorry, I guess that would help.

76 1300 stock with a new 34 DAT carb. The car will mainly be used for pleasure, no daily driver or track use planned.