No power, overheating...No FFO!

Lambertta X1/9

Michael L
I've been working on my X for the past couple of months making cosmetic improvements. Taking off the late model bumpers, installing euro bumpers, fixing rust spots and spot painting, Abarth steering wheel. I took my 1980 carbed X out this evening for a drive to test her out before driving to Asheville. I haven't driving her much this year due to working on her, but the last time she drove fine. She has been leaking a little oil (leaves about a nickel sized spot on the drive way after parking. Also has been blowing some puffy white smoke when first starting. I knew these problems needed attention but I've concentrating on what she looks like, and honestly what I could do easily...I'm no mechanic.

Anyhow, when I started her she blew a lot of smoke and burned a lot of oil off the exhaust manifold (I guess). I was driving for about 15 minutes no problem, then when I shift into 3rd...no power. I downshift to 2nd, run the rpm's up, shift to 3rd no power. Run the rpms way up, shift to 3rd some power, but not normal takes forever to get to 45 mph. I limp home about 2 miles going 35 - 40 mph. I notice during all this the water temp is climbing and by the time I get home its almost in the red.

So, I guess I'll be going to FFO X-less, damn-it all. I was excited about taking her. :sad:

Anybody got any ideas?

Thanks in advance,

Michael

Pull the plugs & check compression.

Oil smoke on startup is often valve seals, but that wouldn't cause overheating. .....

Do you still have a catalytic converter?

If so, after the compression test, if it has decent compression, disconnect the pipe before it goes into the catalytic converter and retest. Catalytic converters can get plugged (from age, oil, fuel) and will get worse the more you drive and try to flow exhaust through them. Hope that's it, it's an easy fix.
Dave

Common headgasket checks