"toc toc" noise in the steering rack

Hi all,

today in the morning I drove my X1/9 an I heard a noise like "toc" "toc" when I move the steering wheel to pass on a couple bumps in my neighborhood, I drove carefully to try to identify what's wrong, and I thought some nut it was loose, I reviewed all the steering rack and I found where is the problem, but I don't know if is a easy fix or I need to replace all the part.
Is the steering rack, on the passenger side when turn the steering wheel (or wheel) noise come from inside the rubber boot and the arm moves, I can't see it but I can feel when I touch with the hand it moves and makes the "toc, toc" sound like something is loose.
Somebody knows if I need to replace all the steering wheel or just I need to remove the rubber boot and tight something inside.

Thanks on advance.

Could be the bushing

I am no expert on this, but I am rebuilding my rack right now. Based on my research on this topic on the Forum, it sounds like it could be the plastic bushing that is just inside the passenger side of the steering rack. They can wear out and break, which allows that side of the rack to move around, causing the noise. The rack needs to come out to change this.
http://www.midwest-bayless.com/stor...l.aspx?sid=1&sfid=208227&c=193059&i=250926236

It could also be the inner tie rod end that is worn out. When you check for movement, which way is the excess movement?

thanks!.

I am no expert on this, but I am rebuilding my rack right now. Based on my research on this topic on the Forum, it sounds like it could be the plastic bushing that is just inside the passenger side of the steering rack. They can wear out and break, which allows that side of the rack to move around, causing the noise. The rack needs to come out to change this.
http://www.midwest-bayless.com/stor...l.aspx?sid=1&sfid=208227&c=193059&i=250926236

It could also be the inner tie rod end that is worn out. When you check for movement, which way is the excess movement?