bhagen

Low Mileage
Hello my friends, I have lurked around this forum for a while soaking up all of the amazing and helpful knowledge you all have to offer, but I have finally found a problem that needed a forum post!
I am new to the x1/9 universe, only recently learned how to drive stick (and only yesterday I pulled off the Targa top and learned the real reason why this car is so awesome).

I have been chasing very small lighting gremlins around, and my last culprit to catch is the instrument cluster lighting. Only one light is on above the left side of the speedo, and I can only really see if I am going between 30 and 40 mph at night.
I have removed the 5 screws from the front of the cluster and removed the plastic face, but the actual gauge assembly will not budge. I looked down the black grille to see if I could find the speedo cable connector, but all I can see is a black cable, no connector.

http://imgur.com/nNlBz6O

There is a white connector just barely poking out of the firewall. I was able to attempt to unscrew this with two fingers jammed under the wiper assembly, but it just keeps spinning with no results.

http://imgur.com/XRL0QhO

Could it be that at some point the cable was re-installed without the two pieces, and instead the long piece was just plugged directly into the cluster? Again the extent of my knowledge barely exceeds the Haynes manual, and it didn't have much to say on this matter.
Thanks for any help anyone might be able to offer.

Also, does anyone know where I could get some of the push-on weather stripping that is used around the doors and where the targa top sits on the roll bar? I ordered some from bayless but it seems like there should be a cheaper generic kind somewhere.

H