Changing the seats with Miata seats.

homegrown32

True Classic
I am thinking I want to change out the seats, and replacing them with Miata seats. I have a pair of 1999-2000 seats.
Does anyone have any experience putting these in?
Does it make sense to cut up my existing X1/9 seat pans to get the slides off or should I make some other slides work?
I want the seat to sit as low as possible to avoid the targa bar.
I have never actually driven an X1/9, I just want to make sure there is head/helmet room when driving along with a comfortable driving position for long trips and big drivers.

Any help, advice, or other options are appreciated.

I have no experience with Miata seats. But I fitted an OMP racing seat.

I removed the rails from under an old X19 seats (early style rails, Bertone had a different system)

I was lucky enough the bolt holes underneath are nearly at the right distance, I could just bolt the rails under the OMP seats and I could slide it on the floor rails.

It the width is not right, then you could just bolt side to side a pair of straight steel or aluminium edges, thick enough to prevent deforming. Then you could bolt the rail to these rails in the appropriate width. Only drawback is you will raise the seating height by the thickness of the edges.

BTW, I could not seat under the top when wearing an helmet. I need to remove the top... even in the rain. But it depends on the lenght of your upper body.

Other options would include Honda S2000 seats or RX7 seats. I have seens in pics some x19 using these seats.

I put earlier Miata seats in years go. Have to cut sheet metal out the Miata base, if yours are similar to these:

X19-0861.jpg

also needs an offset plate to make it line up

X19-0862.jpg

Seat belt reel needs moving

X19-0866.jpg

X19-0867.jpg

I later re-covered them in vinyl, since the cloth feels quite nasty in warm weather, IMO. Vinyl was worse in some ways.

X19-Miata-SEAT0005.jpg