Engine Oil

Peter Cecil

True Classic
Greetings,

I read an interesting post on wiki last night about engine oils for our type of engines. The author likes Rotella. I have no feelings either way about Rotella other than many of the farmers in my area will not go near it with their heavy equipment.

What are our members using? My favourite, with was discouraged in the article, is Mobil 1. I have used it for years. That aside, any suggestions?

I do also add a product called Cam Guard for the extended time the engine sits idle.

Peter

I read an interesting post on wiki last night about engine oils for our type of engines.
Link? I'd be interested in seeing that too.

My quick answer is that any modern oil of the appropriate grade is probably better than even the best of the coagulated dinosaur blood that was used forty years ago. But where's the fun in that answer?

I've been using Rotella 15W-40 for many years, but am considering switching for my next round of oil changes because of the increased availability of high-ZDDP formulated oils for older cars.

For a really good time, check out the forums at https://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php ;)

Link? I'd be interested in seeing that too.

My quick answer is that any modern oil of the appropriate grade is probably better than even the best of the coagulated dinosaur blood that was used forty years ago. But where's the fun in that answer?

I've been using Rotella 15W-40 for many years, but am considering switching for my next round of oil changes because of the increased availability of high-ZDDP formulated oils for older cars.

For a really good time, check out the forums at https://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php ;)
Eric,
Here is the link to what I was reading. The author really does not recommend any of the Mobil 1 synthetic product for our engines at all for the very reason that you mention, ZDDP or the lack thereof.

http://xwebforums.com/wiki/index.php?title=Oil