Fiat 850 Coupe Engine Query

DJD176

Low Mileage
Hi there,

Newbie here, I have some questions about my Fiat 850 coupe (series 1 - 1965).

It looks like the engine has been changed from the original at some point in its history. The current bottom end/block has the same model number (100GC000) so it is the same type. However the cylinder head from what I can gather is from an A112 Abarth 70HP.

I'm just wondering if anyone knows if this represents an issue for instance:

Is this a good/bad thing i.e. good upgrade or not / wont make much difference?

Should this give more power?

I'm running the standard DIC1 carburettor, does this need to be changed for the Abarth one for optimum performance?

Anyone else running a similar setup?

Many Thanks.

JD, the cylinder spacing on the 843 cc (your block) is different from the 903/ A112. How do you know what you have is the A112? Photos would be helpful.
Good Luck

Hi, I'm only going off the numbers on the cylinder head below where the exhaust manifold fits.

As far as i can tell it says A112AB.2C0 / 4388297

When i did a search online i found a site that had rebuilt an A112 Abarth and the cylinder head numbers matched?

Attached image is of that engine not mine!

Thanks.

Attachments

• 370A3239-scaled.jpg
    370A3239-scaled.jpg
    289.2 KB · Views: 81
Hi, I'm only going off the numbers on the cylinder head below where the exhaust manifold fits.

As far as i can tell it says A112AB.2C0 / 4388297

When i did a search online i found a site that had rebuilt an A112 Abarth and the cylinder head numbers matched?

Attached image is of that engine not mine!

Thanks.
People can say whatever they want in an advert to try and bring in a buyer ... but that block isn't an A112 70hp 1049cc engine ... the A112 also came as a basic 903cc engine too

the 1050 "abarth" head is this number
and has this combustion chamber shape when fitted to a 67.2mm bore

looks like you have a later model 903 head ontop of your 843

SteveC