It is RUNNING!!!!

slaponte

The Iron Monkey
I am so freaking HI right now! Took the little X out for a spin, finally. Starts like a charm now. Idles beautiful (no more dying on deceleration). It is so quiet (stock exhaust), when I idle on cruise to a stop sign it seems like it isn't even running, but it is. The replaced dash works fine. Lights, everything. Took it up to 65 and pushing 5500 rpm.

And now, the to-do's...

1) Brakes are hard and don't seem right. I need to flush and bleed.

2) I hear a loud clunk on the front when I take a pothole, like something is bottoming out. I haven't done anything to the suspension since I got it, so I guess I am headed that way soon.

3) at about 45 cruise heading back home I started hearing a wo-wo-wo sound from the driver/rear. I have little experience with the X but seemed to me like a rear hub or axle related. I plan to record it on a video so you guys can hear it and direct me.

4) It is still hard to shift it. The lollipop and all has been tightened, so it migh just need some minor link adjustment.

And I need to put the speakers in it so I can hear something, althought the engine sounds pretty good right now. :excited::excited::excited:

List to do!!!!

1)change the brake lines too,cheap and you`ll feel the difference
2)check strut bushing or strut bump stop
3)woo,woo sound? check tires first,maybe one is bad,before tearing the hub
4)Play with the lolipop!!!

Glad to hear its alive!!!:excited:

Loud clunk

Hi Sergio,

Great to hear your progress.

Did you put the anti-rattle springs in place when you installed the brake pads? If you didn't, you'll swear it sounds like the front end is about to fall apart over little bumps and potholes as the brake pads rattle around in the caliper housing.

Keep us posted!!!

-Matt