Question on (1980 Carbed - 1500) Turbo-Charging

Mark in Syracuse

Daily Driver
On ebay there is a turbo kit for sale and was wondering what the experts thought of this and whether it would work for my car:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Fiat...ptZMotorsQ5fCarQ5fTruckQ5fPartsQ5fAccessories

When I do go ahead and get the 1980 road worthy again I would like to improve engine performance to give the car better acceleration...I know about removing weight (the biggest problem with weight now is that of the driver:) since the last time I drove the car I weighed in at about 140, now pushing 205 I guess I could drive naked and lose 5 lbs there:eek:)

But seriously...I would appreciate thoughts on a kit like this. It does not say whether it is intended for a fuel injected car...( I am not a mechanic but would certainly like to assist in the mechanical portions of the rebuild) I have changed the brakes, oil, front hood latch, outside door handle, emergency cable, cleared carb jets, all fairly simple but part of my road side mechanic experience, but certainly not qualified to put a turbo on my car or judge whether this kit would be suited for my car.

I don't know about the kit but unless you really hate yourself don't turbo a carb. If you are going to do all that work make life a little easier and install programmable FI.

That kit doesn't look like it would work on any X I've ever seen. Also that turbo looks way too big.

Would programmable FI be available in a kit form? and if so, where?

Most use Megasquirt but it's certainly not a bolt on kit. All of this requires a fair amount of technical know-how or at least the willingness to spend a lot of time learning. Adding forced induction is not something you do casually.

Took a closer look at the kit.

It has a T3/T4 hybrid turbo which is rather large for your application. Most people use Uno turbo parts from Europe. I believe the Uno Turbo used a T2 turbo. The air to air intercooler looks just about worthless for an X.