Replacing the Coolant Temperature Sensor

LoveX1/9s

True Classic
I wanted to replace the sensor but it’s complicated. I wanted 2 fans and I had them all along but the sensor that is supposed to do the trick will not.

All indications are that the sensor is shot so the car will not start when hot (not saying that there aren’t other things and I have already fixed one).

The car starts when the gas pedal is depressed to the floor without pumping and turning the key. So, my air fuel ratio is off – faulty sensor, right???

I am no mechanic but I am becoming one – sort of.

As you can see, the sensor on the car is not the same as the one that’s supposed to replace it. I don’t know if I have 2 fans because I have air conditioning or if the radiator is aftermarket but what do I need to do to complete a simple job (Yes, the fuse is good)?

That said am I confusing the part with the Radiator Cooling Fan Switch??? I'm not a mechanic remember??? One repair book say's the sensor is on the back of the reaiator on the drivers side. Will doubble check with the shop manual too. BTW, isn't the sensor on the block some where on most cars??? Yes, I'm confused ;-)

This post is related to another post – Car will not start when warm.

Attachments

• 22.jpg
    22.jpg
    16.4 KB · Views: 72
  • 23.jpg
    23.jpg
    13 KB · Views: 72
  • 24.jpg
    24.jpg
    12.5 KB · Views: 75
  • 25.jpg
    25.jpg
    12.2 KB · Views: 71
  • 26.jpg
    26.jpg
    12.1 KB · Views: 73
  • 27.jpg
    27.jpg
    12.4 KB · Views: 77
Last edited:
There is a fan switch on the radiator, a water temperature gauge sending unit on the block and a coolant temperature sensor for FI screwed into the thermostat housing. What you have there (with the blue plastic connector) is that last item for the FI system.