Scorpion no-cut headlight relays...

budgetzagato

Administrator
I've been wanting to put my Scorpion's headlights on relays ever since I got it. They've been not very bright and I worry incessantly about the ignition and headlight switches. Finally today I tackled it, after a few false starts.

First I studied the car and the Scorpion wiring diagrams from the Lancisti site. Like many older Fiats, the car's wiring is thick enough, but the switchgear is delicate. Also like many Fiats, on the Scorpion the power for the headlights comes from the battery, through the ignition switch, through the headlight switch, through the fuse box and finally to the lights themselves. This means the full load of the headlight circuit is running through the old, delicate switches and many connectors.

In my Spider relay kits I run a new power wire from the alternator to a set of NAPA 192D relays and insert the relay harness into the stock wiring at a wire connection along the fender.

Bob Brown's insertable X1/9 headlight relay kit installs 4 relays near the headlights themselves, and use a single power wire that branches to both headlight pod areas. The original wiring is used to trigger the relays. It's a good setup.

The Scorpion's headlight recesses and connectors are only accessible by removing the headlight. Also, the existing wiring is hard to get to, and has no insertion points in the run. The stock wiring is 12g, so rather than install a substitute wire harness in the car, especially given the difficulty of access, I decided just to relay the circuits in the fuse box area.

I ran a new fused 10g wire from the (+) post of the battery to the fuse box area, where is splits into two 12g wires, one for each relay. I like the 192D relays because they have 2 "87" outputs, ideal for pairs of lights.