Starter teardown

jvandyke

True Classic
I tore my '81's starter down. For fun. I'm not very experienced but the solenoid "looks" okay. The brushes look totally shot and the commuter (where the brushes ride, correct word?) is worn down to flush. I seem to remember a minimum amount of clearance necessary here. I think you "can" cut down the section in between the metal to restore it, get new brushes, clean up and good to go.....but it probably isn't worth it? I am more prone to get a reman....ya think? see pictures here
http://gallery.me.com/jvandyke#100330&view=grid&bgcolor=black&sel=13

If you have a lathe

Put the armature in the lathe and use a flat file to dress the contacts where the brushes meet. After, gGo over that with a fine (like 480 grit) sandpaper to ensure smoothness for the brushes. Replace the brushes if you can, but if they have lots of live in them. flatten the surface (again) with your flat file so there are no rolling edges, the re-assemble. Should run like new again.

Salvageable you think then? The brushes are gone to nothing, one set is not hardly contacting and spring push is used up, it needs new. Now I'm the first to find the cheap way out and love to resurrect stuff but I'm not sure I can pull this off and have a good starter for years of reliable use. I'm more likely to get a new one. I doubt I'll find brushes anyway...still if it's common to revamp these on your own, I'll try, worst case scenario, I waste some time and the cost of some brushes (which I can scavenge and keep "just in case" should I fail and use the thing as a core).

You NEED good brushes

I wouldn't discard a good starter over a set of brushes, especially if the armature is good. (can't fix those!)
Check with Chris Obert or Matt Brannon for a set, see what they've got first.
But don't re-assemble it if you already know the brushes are toast.

Bosch or the M thing?

What is correct starter for an '81? Bosch or the Morelli (that's not right I know but the other M one?).