Story of My Bertone Restoratiom

drkane

Longtime Owner
For those of you who do not know me, my name is Damon Royal Kane and I have been an X1/9 enthusiast since 1988 when I purchased my first 1982 Fiat X1/9. I did not know the cars as well as I did a few years later so I made a mistake when purchasing the car, it had some collision damage that was poorly repaired. I was a young architect at that time with not much money so I struck a deal with a local body shop to design a new facility for him in exchange for repairing and repainting the car. I had the car painted with a two tone low line scheme with the idea that it would break up the panels and reduce the amount of repainting that would be required given my expectation for future rust. The car came out beautifully and I have been enjoying it ever since then. I have had to deal with rust as a result of the collision damage but it has been manageable.

Back in 2002 I thought it would be nice to capture a nice X (straight and not too rusty) for a future retirement restoration project. I had been accumulating X1/9 parts for a few years and felt the best way to utilize this stash was to eventually restore a car. A good friend, Jon Padden from New Jersey sent me an email alerting me to a car that was for sale. I followed up and drove to NJ to look at the car. It was a two tone (highline) 1986 model with AC, and an original red over grey paint job and a burgundy interior. The owner had intentions of making it look like a 74 with the small bumpers and a beige and black interior. To this end the owner had cut the four sockets for the bumper shocks off the car. I looked at it and it had doors from his 79 mounted on it. And as best I could see the car did not have much rust. That was the magic opportunity for me so I agreed to buy the car and all the parts he had assembled from his old 79 and for this car.