Tranny leak

Chris in Canada

True Classic
I need to reseal my tranny and was wondering if there were any tricks or precautions I need to know? I already have the gasket set and seals.I am a mechanic, just don’t have a lot of tranny expertise!! It’s a 5spd, out of a 1981. Also, has popped out of reverse a couple of times!!!

Well, if you’re going to break the case apart you might as well pull the gear set and inspect the condition. Since you know there is a fifth gear issue it would be silly not to break it down.
There’s a lot of info on the forum on all aspects of the process.

Look for 5-speed 101 by Steve Hoelscher, and for Bernice's (Rupunzel) posts with pix, invaluable resources!

These are pretty simple transaxles, only one adjustment which is final drive bearing preload, measured with a feeler gage and adjusted with inexpensive shims that our vendors have good stock of.

This is one of those "slippery slope" things. I'm currently doing a similar job on one of my trannys. Here is my take on it.