Transmission linkage shaft seal

catterar

Bob Cattera
My transmission oil is slowly draining from the transmission where the linkage shaft enters the case.
How is this seal changed. Please tell me it can be done with the transmission in place.

Shaft Seal

I recently did this, no problem leaving the transmission in place on the 5 speed. Took me about an hour and I'm a novice.

Good luck, Bill

You'll want to find a cheapie deep socket that's long and wide enough to fit over the end of the selector input rod. Once you have that...

Disconnect the linkage at the lollipop, work the old seal out with a screwdriver, slide it off the selector input rod. Slide the new seal on, use the socket and a light hammer to tap it into place.

Thanks

Sounds easy enough, do you think the spark plug wrench that came with the old Fiat tool kits would work to drive home the new seal?
Erich, hope I get to meet you in Cary on the 26th.

Sounds easy enough, do you think the spark plug wrench that came with the old Fiat tool kits would work to drive home the new seal?
Erich, hope I get to meet you in Cary on the 26th.

I will be there. And no idea about the spark plug wrench... Never thought about that... I think I'd want something that bears more evenly on the seal. Can't hurt to try though, and come to think of it, I'd expect that Lowes or Home Depot would have a cheap PVC plumbing fitting that would work too.

That may be a little too big.........!

.....do you think the spark plug wrench that came with the old Fiat tool kits would work to drive home the new seal? ......

......I replaced the trans selector shaft seal in my 1300 X about 3 weeks ago, and I used a 19mm deep socket to tap the new seal in - I also suggest smearing a dab of gasket cement around the outside surface of the seal that goes into the trans housing. This helps the seal slide into its position, and also helps against oil leaks from the trans.