Regan Burba

True Classic
Hey,
I am new to the Xweb forums, my dad and I recently picked up 2 x1/9s, one is a 1980 converted to carbs, and a 1987. We are restoring both of them, and we scoured the internet for some parts, but cant seem to find any reasonable replacements. We are in the Connecticut area.

We are looking for a few items at the moment, i am sure we will have more things needed down the line, but this is it so far

-Front air dam + plastic cover
- windshield
- engine cover

1980 could have been carb car... Could be either in '80 and '81 was all FI.
Those are going to be hard to find reasonable... It is after all, a relative term.
Lots of folks opt for converting to '74 style pods and blades or just do a bumper delete.
I have seen engine covers come up. Just keep an eye out on Fleabay.
The windshield is another tough one. I will need one soon and I will poke around with local suppliers and see if I can't luck out. The problem is unlike an '83 BRAT I was able to find local the X is more of a one-off. The BRAT shared with 4 other models so they benefit from that.
Since you say you are restoring them you have a little time on your side.
Welcome to X ownership and the forum!
Good luck with your cars!
Also, don't forget photos!

You should be able to get a new windsheild from a local glass installation company, the X windsheild installs like any modern windshield with similar materials.

I would suggest removing the old one yourself and do any repair needed in the channel, proper repaint with top coat before they come with some good cure time. Don't forget to put the inner trim black back on before they install the glass as it is basically impossible to install after the fact. The outer trim you will need to cut from the face of the glass and then glue it back on after the primary install.

Midwest does have good used ones for sale that you could acquire and do the whole job yourself with materials from NAPA.

Regan,