What did you do to your X1/9 today ?

I maybe wrong, I'm no expert on 1974 bumpers. And from some of the pictures I have seen, you maybe wright. I just that they seems to sit too high.

The X1/9 dash had the typical 2 cracks in the top running to the defroster vent. It was badly warped. I had to remove the foam from the underside so I could correct the warpage. I used epoxy resin, fiberglass cloth and milled glass fibers to reinforce the cracked areas. I also repaired the radio cutout in the same manner. Body filler was used where needed to flatten the surfaces. I used a black 2K primer surfacer to fill in the vinyl grain texture. I then applied a splatter finish with the 2K and finished it off with a urethane matte black. Month long project

View attachment 52269
View attachment 52270
Can you tell me the brand of primer? Is that Eastwood 2K? I’d like to do something similar, and the dash is partly original, sanded vinyl, and padded dash filler by Polyvance. I was going to use some very light texture after that, and then a SEM paint. But it’s the base/primer I’m most concerned about due to adhesion, heat, cold, etc. Thanks.

Last edited:
I maybe wrong, I'm no expert on 1974 bumpers. And from some of the pictures I have seen, you maybe wright. I just that they seems to sit too high.
The North American '74 bumper pads do sit higher then the Euro. And they look to be longer (stick out further) than the Euro.

Roy

Figured out front turn signals mounting problem. Someone earlier posted about rubber tubing split to make a gasket/cushion between the chrome piece and the X body. I used some leftover silicone windshield washer tubing, it fit perfectly and looks fine. They look quite a bit like the Triumph TR7 turn signals.

No rubber boot behind the assembly but I can live with that. They're pretty hard to find.

All new spade lug connectors while I was in there.

Out for the first drive of the year.

Attachments

• IMG_7404.jpg
    IMG_7404.jpg
    757.9 KB · Views: 84