guy croft website

hi i have over the last few weeks tried to join the guy croft forum,i have done as he asked and given my address details etc,he emailed me back a couple of times but as soon as i had mentioned i am a regional officer for the x1/9 ownersclub in the uk he declined my membership which is a shame,i respect he is the master of italian engines especially supercharged ones and thats why i wanted to join his forum especially as i have a supercharged x1/9 and he rebuilds the volumex superchargers and one day i may have needed his expertise to rebuild mine,such a shame :(

Last edited:
Bad blood?

Is there any history between your club an Mr. Croft? Copyright issues? Odd that you would be rejected without good reason.

i really dont know but he is well respected by members of our club as he is all over the world as a master of italian engines

I'd ask...

Both Mr. Croft and others on your club forum, there may be some history there you're not aware of.

He's pretty much the expert on DOHC engines, but his work has been illegally copied and so forth so he's very careful anymore.

i understand that but its shame,i was hoping for advise about my supercharged x1/9,i have sent pottsy a message to see if he knows anything

Last edited:
It's not paranoia...

Mr. Croft's DOHC book has been scanned to websites and that sort of thing, it's very difficult in this digital age to protect one's work.

Yes, if memory serves me well, there is a very long and public history detailing his distaste for the UK site..:hmm:.. maybe it was Steve C's distste for Guy Croft:huh:. Regardless he is a very quirky guy. Very knowledgeable but kind of a dick. <I don't say this out of disrespect, just matter of fact. If you want to know anything about machine work or performance or just general knowledge on Fiat products, Guy is the guy.