Leaking Clutch Master Cylinder?

79X19

True Classic
IMG_4714.JPG
IMG_4715.JPG
IMG_4714.JPG
I think I have a Clutch master cylinder problem. Good to have it now as I have the interior completely ripped out. I noticed today that the floor pan, which I had completely refinished, had what looked like a wet spot on it. I went to wipe it up and the paint came off with it. So I figured I've got a problem. In looking at the brake and clutch master cylinders the clutch looks to be like the culprit. Take a look a the pics and see if you agree. So with that determined I would assume that I need to replace it. Can anyone point to a prior thread that completely outlines how to do this? Also should I do the brake cylinder at the same time? One last question should I change out the hoses coming from the brake and clutch reservoirs at this time as well and get it out of the way??

Looks likely. I would pull back the rubber boot and see if its wet inside, it could be a leak from the supply hose instead.

Bernice has the best thread for doing the pedal box system. Its a very complete thread.

The answer to all your questions is Yes. This repair is a required course in X-101!
I had the same issue about 12 years ago and I went with replacing both cylinders, replaced all hoses to the reservoirs, replaced both reservoirs, rebuilt the pedal box, got brake fluid on my face, hair and eyes...You only want to visit that site once. Access is the biggest issue. Removing the steering wheel and drivers seat helps a lot. Be very careful not to strip the brake line connections and you should be OK. I bought blue Volkswagen brake hoses from Summit (I forget what size), and all new clamps. I did the whole thing by myself and I spent a week-end rebuilding just the pedal box and the next week-end putting it all back together.

Good luck!