New member, Old owner, Actual AFST Certified Mechanic!

halojm

True Classic
Just a quick introduction. I just picked up an early 1980 carburated X 1/9 from the original owner with 40000 original miles. They stopped driving it and it sat outside since 1987, so it has some surface rust and the (Bordeaux) paint is incredibly faded. However, back in the late 1970s to early 1980s, I was a Certified AFST mechanic (What, you didn't know what a Association of Fiat Service Technicians was called!) and I raced a 1974 X 1/9 (and won locally) in D-Stock. So it all came flooding back to me. It took a week to get it running and another week to get it roadworthy (It helped that I still had all my old manuals and service letters.). I've been looking thru the threads on this forum and they're great! I wish I had this info back when I used to work (for a living) on these cars - it would have saved me all sorts of time.

Welcome

Halo....welcome. I never knew there were certified Fiat mechanics in the US. Congratulations on your car, welcome BACK to Fiats. There's no doubt that you will quickly become a resource here due to your knowledge. Please post pictures of your work and progress, and please hang out and banter with us. Thanks for dropping by!!

PixPixPix

Everything you say is no more than :read: words on a screen until you post the pix!

We :love: to see Pix on our :pc:

:laugh:But seriously, welcome aboard! And x2 what Duane wrote...

PIX PIX PIX

FiatX19Before2-1.jpg
FiatX19During1.jpg
SCCA1983.jpg
AFSTCertification.jpg

Wow...