Oil pressure range

AngleT

Always more tuning to do
I just got my "hot rod" running and I installed an oil pressure gauge. What range of oil pressure should I be seeing when it is at operating temp at idle? I do have the larger oil pressure relief spring from PBS installed, but I'm seeing (what I think) is low oil pressure at idle when warmed up.

Thanks,

I'm no oil expert...

seeing (what I think) is low oil pressure at idle when warmed up.

But if your engine/oil pump is healthy, and all other factors being equal, wouldn't the oils viscosity be the biggest factor here? What viscosity are you running and what pressure are you seeing?

(honestly, not that I could approve or disapprove once I have the numbers - I am just pointing out that you probably need to include those specifics in order to have this conversation)

Pete

I'm running Redline 15w-40 Diesel oil

When it's cold I'm running between 60-70psi. I wanted to see what what the general consensus was before I gave the low numbers to prevent tainting the results of the survey. The pressure comes back up between 55-65 psi when I'm driving and the car is warmed up. It's just when I'm idling at a stop light that has me wondering.

I use 5w30, but once warmed up I usually see 15-20 at idle. Mind you that's a standard oil pump in good shape on the 1800, and on a mechanical gauge so ymmv. Just curious as to why your running diesel oil?

Last edited:
How much do your trust that gauge?

I just got my "hot rod" running and I installed an oil pressure gauge. What range of oil pressure should I be seeing when it is at operating temp at idle? I do have the larger oil pressure relief spring from PBS installed, but I'm seeing (what I think) is low oil pressure at idle when warmed up.

How much do your trust that gauge? Especially at the bottom end of its range? If you don't have a pressure test setup, stop by a garage that does and have them check.